IWC

With a clear focus on technology and development, the Swiss watch manufacturer IWC Schaffhausen has been producing timepieces of lasting value since 1868.

The company has made a name for itself internationally with its passion for innovative solutions and technical ingenuity. As one of the world's leading brands in the luxury watch segment, IWC creates masterpieces of haute horlogerie that combine engineering and precision with exclusive design.

Aquatimer

The 1960s saw the rise of scuba diving as a popular sport. In response, IWC unveiled its first diver’s watch at the Basel Watch Show in 1967. Instead of a classic external bezel for setting the dive time, the watch featured a rotating bezel under the glass that was operated using a second crown. Today, the rotating bezel is still placed behind the sapphire glass.

Da Vinci

Probably no other watch has left its mark on the history of IWC like the Da Vinci featuring Kurt Klaus’s perpetual calendar. With the quartz crisis at its height, IWC’s head watchmaker pursued designing a mechanical perpetual calendar. Comprising 82 individual components in a design of ingenious simplicity, the calendar module, combined with a chronograph, made its debut in 1985 in the Da Vinci family.

Ingenieur

In 1950, IWC launched its first in-house automatic movement. The man behind the development of the 85 calibre was the technical director at the time, Albert Pellaton. Unlike most other similar automatic systems of the time, it used the movement of the rotor in both directions to wind the mainspring. Additionally, because an increasing number of electronic devices in the household generated magnetic fields, the Ingenieur also featured a soft-iron case that effectively protected the movement against their influence.

Jubilee Collection

IWC Schaffhausen is over 150 years old. Therefore, in 2018, the manufaturer presented a special anniversary collection at the Salon International de la Haute Horlogerie (SIHH) in Geneva. It comprises a total of 29 limited editions from the Portugieser, Portofino, Pilot's Watches and Da Vinci families.

Pilot's Watches

Aviation was still in its infancy when General Director Ernst Jakob Homberger – inspired by his two aviation-enthusiast sons, Hans Ernst and Rudolf – launched the Special Pilot’s Watch, Reference IW436, in 1936. In the pioneering age of flying, most pilots were still using pocket watches. A wristwatch developed specially for pilots was a real innovation. Designed to use in the cockpit, the timepiece was driven by the 83 calibre with an antimagnetic escapement.

Portofino

Since its launch in 1984, the Portofino Collection by IWC Schaffhausen has appealed to discerning watch enthusiasts who value the charm and virtues of the Italian way of life. The crowning jewel of the series was the Portofino Hand-Wound with Moon Phase (Ref. 5251). Designed on the basis of the Lépine pocket watch, this timelessly elegant watch with an impressive case diameter of 46 millimetres quickly went on to gain iconic status.

Portugieser

In 1939, two businessmen from Portugal placed an order with IWC for a series of large wristwatches that were to run as precisely as a marine chronometer. The captains and officers of the Portuguese merchant navy wanted a “seriously big watch” to wear on their wrists. Schaffhausen’s design engineers decided to put the men’s pocket watch 74 calibre into a wristwatch case.

IWC

Mit einem klaren Fokus auf Technologie und Entwicklung stellt die Schweizer Uhrenmanufaktur IWC Schaffhausen seit 1868 Zeitmesser von bleibendem Wert her.

Das Unternehmen hat sich durch seine Passion für innovative Lösungen und technischen Erfindergeist international einen Namen gemacht. Als eine der weltweit führenden Marken im Luxusuhrensegment kreiert IWC Meisterwerke der Haute Horlogerie, die Engineering und Präzision mit exklusivem Design vereinen.

Aquatimer

In den 1960er Jahren wurde das Tauchen immer mehr zum Volkssport. Als Antwort darauf stellte IWC 1967 an der Basler Uhrenmesse seine erste Taucheruhr vor. Anstelle einer klassischen Lunette zum Einstellen der Tauchzeit hatte die Uhr eine drehbare Lünette unter dem Glas, die mit einer zweiten Krone betrieben wurde. Die drehbare Lünette befindet sich heute immernoch hinter dem Saphirglas.

Da Vinci

Wahrscheinlich hat keine andere Uhr die Geschichte von IWC so beeinflusst wie die Da Vinci mit Kurt Klaus ewigem Kalender. Mit der Quarzkrise auf dem Höhepunkt verfolgt der Chefuhrmacher von IWC die Entwicklung eines mechanischen ewigen Kalenders. Das Kalendermodul, das 82 Einzelteile in einer durchdachten Einfachheit enthält, wurde 1985 in Kombination mit einem Chronographen in der Familie Da Vinci vorgestellt.

Ingenieur

Im Jahr 1950 brachte IWC ihr erstes Manufaktur-Automatikwerk auf den Markt. Der Mann hinter der Entwicklung des Kalibers 85 war der damalige technische Direktor Albert Pellaton. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen ähnlichen automatischen Systemen der Zeit nutzte es die Bewegung des Rotors in beide Richtungen um die Triebfeder aufzuziehen. Da immer mehr elektronische Geräte im Haushalt Magnetfelder erzeugten, verfügte die Ingenieur auch über ein Gehäuse aus Weicheisen, das die Bewegung effektiv vor ihrem Einfluss schützt.

Jubilee Collection

IWC Schaffhausen ist über 150 Jahre alt. Auf dem Salon International de la Haute Horlogerie (SIHH) in Genf hat die Manufaktur im Jahre 2018 deshalb eine spezielle Jubiläumskollektion vorgestellt. Sie umfasst insgesamt 29 limitierte Exemplare aus den Familien Portugieser, Portofino, Pilot’s Watches und Da Vinci.

Pilot's Watches

Die Luftfahrt steckte noch in den Kinderschuhen, als Generaldirektor Ernst Jakob Homberger 1936 - inspiriert von seinen beiden Söhnen der Luftfahrt-Enthusiasten Hans Ernst und Rudolf - die Spezialfliegeruhr IW436 lancierte. In der Pionierzeit des Fliegens verwendeten die meisten Piloten noch Taschenuhren. Eine speziell für Piloten entwickelte Armbanduhr war eine echte Innovation. Die Uhr wurde für den Einsatz im Cockpit entwickelt und vom Kaliber 83 mit antimagnetischer Hemmung angetrieben.

Portofino

Seit ihrer Einführung im Jahr 1984 hat die Portofino-Kollektion von IWC Schaffhausen anspruchsvolle Uhrenliebhaber angesprochen, die den Charme und die Tugenden der italienischen Lebensart schätzen. Das krönende Juwel der Serie war die Portofino Handaufzug mit Mondphase (Ref. 5251). Diese auf der Basis der Taschenuhr von Lépine entworfene, zeitlos elegante Uhr mit einem beeindruckenden Gehäusedurchmesser von 46 Millimetern erlangte rasch Kultstatus.

Portugieser

Im Jahr 1939 bestellten zwei portugiesische Geschäftsleute bei IWC eine Serie grosser Armbanduhren, die so präzise wie ein Marinechronometer sein sollten. Die Kapitäne und Offiziere der portugiesischen Handelsmarine wollten eine „wirklich grosse Uhr“ am Handgelenk tragen. Die Schaffhauser Konstrukteure beschlossen, das Kaliber der Taschenuhr 74 für Herren in ein Armbanduhrgehäuse zu stecken.

#iwcwatches